How to Eat Vegan at Indian Restaurants

Indian cuisine has many vegetarian and vegan options

Avoid dishes with ghee (clarified butter), paneer (cheese), and yogurt

Tip 1

Cloud Banner

Ask for your dish to be made with oil instead of ghee (clarified butter)

Choose a dish that is commonly vegan

Tip 2

Cloud Banner

Try aloo gobi (potatoes and cauliflower), chana masala (chickpea curry), and dal (lentil stew)

Try appetizers and chutney (sauces)

Tip 3

Cloud Banner

Samosas, a popular appetizer made with potatoes and peas in deep fried dough, are commonly vegan. Try them with mint and tamarind chutney!

Find a vegan or vegetarian Indian restaurant in your area

Tip 4

Cloud Banner

Many Indian restaurants are 100% vegetarian and some are totally vegan or advertise vegan options!

Get more tips, Indian dishes to try, and restaurant recommendations!